Quick Answer: The Govee Outdoor Projector Light (H7073) is the best Christmas light projector for most houses: $99.99 on Govee’s own store (November 4, 2026), laser patterns plus an LED aurora effect, app and Matter control with timers, and an IP65 rating. Govee says it covers 5,069 square feet from 33 feet. For plain red and green laser dots on a budget, get the Star Shower Ultra 9 ($29.99). For animated reindeer and sleighs, the BlissLights Pixxi ($299.99) is the step up. Whatever you buy, aim it at the house: the FAA logged 10,993 laser strikes on aircraft in 2025.
New guide, November 2026. Prices and specs come from Govee’s, BulbHead’s (Star Shower), BlissLights’, and AtmosFX’s own stores and product pages on November 4, 2026, plus Gemmy’s press releases. Safety rules come from the FAA and FDA, recalls from CPSC and FDA databases. We did not test these projectors ourselves; where a published review tested them, we name the outlet.
“Christmas light projector” covers three different products, and most roundups mix them up. A laser projector throws thousands of sharp red, green or blue dots across the whole front of a house. An LED slide projector shines light through a disc to throw recognizable shapes: snowflakes, Santas, candy canes. A video projector plays real animated scenes, like Santa’s elves working in your front window. They differ in what you see, how far away they work, and what they cost, so pick the type first and the model second.
Christmas light projectors, by the numbers
- 10,993 laser strikes on aircraft were reported to the FAA in 2025, down from 12,840 in 2024, per the FAA’s laser laws page (updated October 19, 2026). The FAA’s holiday message is simple: make sure all laser lights are directed at your house and not pointing towards the sky.
- 5 milliwatts is the legal ceiling. FDA classes decorative laser projectors as demonstration laser products and limits them to 5 mW of visible output (Class IIIa). BlissLights says its lights are certified Class 2, a lower class.
- One big holiday-laser recall. FDA lists a 2017 Class 2 recall of 433,128 Santajoy E-Z Illuminations Northern Lights and Galaxy projectors that could exceed the Class IIIa limit. A search of CPSC’s recall database on November 4, 2026 found no recalls of Christmas light projectors.
- Coverage claims use different yardsticks. Govee says 5,069 sq ft from 33 feet, BlissLights roughly 30 x 30 feet from 10 feet, and Star Shower “up to 3,200 square feet” with no distance at all.
- A $29.99 projector with a $54.99 “compare at” price. BulbHead lists the Star Shower Slide Show Christmas at $29.99 next to a $54.99 compare-at price. Treat the strikethrough as decoration.
Our top picks at a glance
| Projector | Best for | Type | Weather rating | Control | Price (Nov 4, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Govee Outdoor Projector Light (H7073) | Best overall | Laser + LED aurora | IP65 (adapter IP44) | App, voice, Matter, timers | $99.99 (list $149.99) |
| Star Shower Ultra 9 | Best budget laser | Red/green laser | Weatherproof (-30°F to 100°F per FAQ) | Buttons; remote version | $29.99 / $39.99 with remote |
| BlissLights Pixxi | Best animated laser show | Green laser animations | "Waterproof" (no IP listed) | Remote, 1 to 4 h timer | $299.99 |
| Govee Outdoor Decoration Projector Light (H7071) | Best LED picture projector | LED, 20 discs | IP67 (adapter IP44) | App, voice, Matter, timers | $119.99 ($30 code shown) |
| Star Shower Slide Show Christmas | Cheapest Santa-and-snowmen shapes | LED, 6 slides | "Safe outdoors all season" | Buttons; remote version | $29.99 / $39.99 with remote |
| Gemmy LightShow projection lights | Grab-it-in-store pick | LED, motion effects | Outdoor models | Buttons | No MSRP published; varies by store |
| AtmosFX Christmas decorations | Animated Santa in a window | Video files for any projector | Depends on your projector | Projector / media player | $25 to $50 per collection |
1. Govee Outdoor Projector Light (H7073) — Best Overall
Govee Outdoor Projector Light (H7073)
- Two light sources: 16 RGB laser patterns plus an RGBW LED "aurora" wash, with 50+ preset scenes and 3 motion modes in the Govee Home app.
- Govee says it covers 5,069 sq ft when placed 33 feet from the house; maximum light output listed as 271 lumens, 24 W.
- IP65 projector and control box, IP44 power adapter; light rated -4°F to 140°F (adapter -4°F to 113°F); aluminum body.
- App, Alexa, Google Assistant and Matter control, with schedules and timers.
The H7073 is the pick for most houses because it does both jobs a laser projector usually forces you to choose between. The laser half throws crisp colored patterns across a whole facade; the LED aurora half fills in a soft moving wash of color behind them, so the house doesn’t look like it’s covered in a plain dot grid. The smart controls matter more than they sound: a schedule in the app turns the display on at dusk and off at bedtime, so you never walk out in the snow to unplug it. Bob Vila tested 12 Christmas light projectors over two weeks for its October 2025 roundup and named the Govee Outdoor Projector Light best overall, listing the same 5,069 sq ft, 33 ft and IP65/IP44 figures Govee publishes for the H7073. Two caveats. Govee’s page doesn’t state a laser class, and the adapter is only IP44, so mount it off the ground under cover.
2. Star Shower Ultra 9 — Best Budget Laser
Star Shower Ultra 9 Laser Light Show
- Nine patterns in red, green or both; thousands of laser dots.
- BulbHead says one unit covers up to 3,200 sq ft and can project from 100 yards away.
- Plug-in, not battery powered: a foot-long two-prong cord for an outdoor extension cord. Ground stake included.
- Star Shower's FAQ lists an operating range of -30°F to 100°F.
Star Shower is the brand that made laser Christmas lights a mainstream thing, and the Ultra 9 is the cheapest way to cover a house front in classic red and green dots. Buy the remote version: for $10 more you can change patterns and switch it off from the porch instead of walking out to the stake. Keep expectations matched to the price. Bob Vila’s testers wrote in October 2025 that the Star Shower 9-pattern model “felt dated” next to newer projectors, and it has no app and no published laser class on BulbHead’s page (a 2015 Star Shower box carried an FDA Class IIIa label, per LaserPointerSafety.com). Two other things to ignore on BulbHead’s page: the strikethrough price, and a “Cordless & Rechargeable” feature icon on a product the same page says is not battery operated.
3. BlissLights Pixxi — Best Animated Laser Show
BlissLights Pixxi Laser Animation Projector
- 70+ looping animations, including Christmas scenes, plus seven longer themed shows of 2 to 4 minutes each.
- Remote control to select, play, pause, scale and rotate projections.
- Timer: continuous, or shut-off after 1, 2, 3 or 4 hours. Tripod and ground stake included; waterproof for indoor or outdoor use.
- BlissLights warranty: one year, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on direct orders.
The Pixxi is a different kind of laser: instead of a static star field, it draws moving line animations, so reindeer actually fly and sleighs cross the garage door. That’s why it costs 10 times what a Star Shower does. BlissLights is upfront about two trade-offs on its own product page: it is green laser only, and the patented technology uses “specialized motorized components that make sound while in use,” which matters if it sits next to a bedroom window. BlissLights says its lights are certified Class 2 (some older models Class 3R) and that outdoor lights should never be aimed higher than 45 degrees, so they can’t interfere with air traffic. The Pixxi is also our best projector for Halloween pick for yard effects, so it earns its price over two seasons.
4. Govee Outdoor Decoration Projector Light (H7071) — Best LED Picture Projector
Govee Outdoor Decoration Projector Light (H7071)
- 20 W LED with 20 projection discs holding 120 patterns for Christmas, Halloween, parties and more; 58 scene modes.
- IP67 aluminum body (power adapter IP44); 180° adjustable lamp head.
- Govee lists coverage of 67.3 to 1,679 sq ft and an optimal distance of 9.8 feet.
- App, voice and Matter control with custom timers.
Pick an LED projector when you want recognizable pictures (snowflakes, trees, Santa hats) rather than a field of dots, and the H7071 is the most weatherproof one we found from a brand that publishes full specs. IP67 is the highest rating in this guide, and the metal body handles a winter outside better than the plastic budget units. Its numbers also show the physics of LED projectors honestly: an optimal distance of 9.8 feet and a maximum of 1,679 sq ft, against 5,069 sq ft for Govee’s own laser model. LED shapes are sharpest close up, so plan to stake it in a flower bed near the wall, not at the curb.
5. Star Shower Slide Show Christmas — Cheapest Santa-and-Snowmen Shapes
Star Shower Slide Show Christmas
- LED projector with 6 interchangeable Christmas slides: Santa, reindeer, snowflakes, trees, gifts and more.
- 3 motion modes: fast, slow and still.
- Ground stake; BulbHead says it is safe to use outdoors all season.
This is the $30 version of the Govee H7071 idea: a handful of colorful holiday shapes that drift across the house. It’s the right buy for a porch, a garage door or one wall, and it’s simple enough that anyone in the house can swap slides. What you give up against the Govee is the disc library (6 slides vs 20 discs), smart controls and a published weather rating. BulbHead also sells the same projector in a Halloween version and an extra Slide Show Celebration Set of slides for $14.99.
6. Gemmy LightShow Projection Lights — Best Grab-It-In-Store Pick
Gemmy LightShow Projection Spotlights (SnowFlurry, Whirl-A-Motion and others)
- LED projection lights, not lasers: Gemmy's 2024 lineup included the SnowFlurry (30-foot display), SnowFall (30 feet wide), Sparkling (13 feet), LightSync (55-foot display) and Whirl-A-Motion Plus (15 feet), per Gemmy's own November 2024 release.
- Gemmy's November 2025 release lists UpLights and Whirl-A-Motion models at Home Depot.
- Often licensed themes (Disney, The Grinch) at Lowe's.
If you’d rather pick a projector off the shelf this weekend than wait for shipping, Gemmy’s LightShow line is what big-box stores stock, often next to Home Depot’s own Home Accents Holiday LED projectors. Gemmy publishes display sizes for each model, which is more than many budget brands do, but it doesn’t publish prices, and Lowe’s hides in-store prices until you choose a store, so compare on the shelf. Good Housekeeping included a Gemmy LightShow projector in its darkroom-tested Christmas projector picks (last updated August 2023). Expect the same LED trade-off as the Star Shower Slide Show: bright, simple shapes over a smaller area than a laser.
7. AtmosFX Christmas Digital Decorations — Best for Animated Santa in a Window
AtmosFX Christmas Digital Decorations + any projector
- 1080p MP4 video files (USB drive) in horizontal and vertical orientations, with individual scenes and a "play all" mode.
- Window Projection Material: 4 x 6 ft woven polyester for $20, or 5.5 x 9 ft XL for $35; Hollusion mesh for "floating" Santa effects $45.
- HoliScapes Projector Kit (720p LED projector, 48 x 72 in screen, USB) $229.99, but only sold in Halloween versions on November 4, 2026.
This is the one option that uses a real projector, and it’s the only way to get a live-action Santa checking his list in your front window. You buy the content from AtmosFX, hang a translucent sheet inside the window, and project from behind it so the scene shows to the street. AtmosFX’s own projector guide warns that budget projectors claiming 5,000 to 8,000 lumens are usually inflated and that “1080p supported” often hides a much lower native resolution, which is exactly what our projector lumens guide explains. A window needs only a small, dim projector; a whole garage door needs more brightness. If you already own a portable projector, start there before buying a kit: our best portable projector and best mini projector guides cover models that work for this. AtmosFX’s old AtmosKIT Christmas bundles are no longer listed on its store; the projectors it sells now are BenQ business and short-throw models from $1,799, which are far more than a window display needs.
Laser vs LED vs video: which type do you need?
| Type | What you see | Works best from | Coverage | Example prices (Nov 4, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Laser star field | Thousands of sharp dots, red/green/blue | 10 to 33+ ft | Whole house front | Star Shower Ultra 9 $29.99; Govee H7073 $99.99 |
| Laser animation | Moving line drawings (reindeer, sleighs) | Medium distance, dark wall | One wall or garage door | BlissLights Pixxi $299.99 |
| LED slide / disc | Recognizable colored shapes | Close: Govee lists 9.8 ft optimal | One wall or porch | Star Shower Slide Show $29.99; Govee H7071 $119.99 |
| Video decoration | Live-action or animated scenes | Behind a window, or a few feet from a wall | One window or screen | AtmosFX $25 to $50 + a projector |
BlissLights sums up why lasers win on distance: laser light is coherent, so it travels in a beam without losing brightness, while LEDs give an “unfocused, blobby effect” that is hard to see from more than a few feet away. That’s also why LED projectors win on pictures: a laser can’t draw a full-color Santa.
Coverage claims, decoded
| Projector | Maker's coverage claim | At what distance |
|---|---|---|
| Govee H7073 (laser + LED) | 5,069 sq ft | 33 ft |
| Star Shower Ultra 9 (laser) | Up to 3,200 sq ft | Not stated ("project from 100 yards") |
| BlissLights (laser, general rule) | Roughly 30 x 30 ft (900 sq ft) | 10 ft |
| Govee H7071 (LED discs) | 67.3 to 1,679 sq ft | 9.8 ft optimal |
| Gemmy SnowFlurry / LightSync (LED) | 30-ft / 55-ft display | Not stated |
None of these numbers can be compared directly, because each brand measures from a different distance and some give no distance at all. Every projector’s pattern grows as you move it back and gets sparser and dimmer at the same time. BlissLights puts it plainly: the closer the light, the denser and smaller the cluster. For a typical two-story front, a laser staked in the lawn and an LED projector staked close to the wall cover different jobs, which is why many houses use one of each.
How to aim a laser projector (and stay out of FAA trouble)
- Point it down at the house, never up. The FAA asks people to make sure all laser lights are directed at the house and not pointing towards the sky, because the beams reach much farther than people realize. BlissLights’ rule: never aim an outdoor light higher than 45 degrees.
- Stake it low and close enough. Put the projector where the whole pattern lands on walls, roof and shrubs, with nothing spilling over the roofline into the sky.
- Know what happens if a pilot reports it. The FAA said in 2016 that it would start by asking the owner to adjust the lights or turn them off. Keep affecting aircraft after a warning and the FAA’s laser laws page lists civil penalties of up to $11,000 per violation and up to $30,800 for multiple incidents.
- Don’t look into the aperture, and keep kids away from it. FDA’s 5 mW Class IIIa limit keeps decorative lasers low-powered, but staring into any laser up close is a bad idea.
- Protect the plug, not just the projector. Both Govee models put an IP44 adapter on an IP65/IP67 light. Keep the adapter and extension-cord joint off the ground, and use an outdoor-rated cord.
- Use the timer. A schedule or shut-off timer saves power and keeps the display off when no one is watching.
What we left out
- BlissLights Spright. BlissLights’ outdoor laser line no longer appears new on its own store; the only Spright listed on November 4, 2026 was a refurbished Spright Compact Red for $29.99. Its old manuals list Class 2 lasers and 30 x 30 ft coverage.
- Marketplace laser brands (LEDMall, Minetom, Poeland and similar). Several appear in Bob Vila’s and Good Housekeeping’s tested picks, and Bob Vila’s testers found the LEDMall laser’s sweet spot at 15 to 20 feet. But these brands don’t run maker stores with prices and full specs we could check, so we couldn’t confirm current models.
- Home Accents Holiday. Home Depot’s house brand showed only LED projectors (such as the LED Snowflakes Illusion Projector), no laser model, and we couldn’t read reliable prices from its pages.
- Indoor galaxy and star lights. Those are bedroom ambiance lights, covered in our best projector night light guide.
The bottom line
For most houses, the Govee Outdoor Projector Light (H7073) is the Christmas light projector to buy: $99.99 for laser patterns plus an LED aurora wash, IP65 weatherproofing, and app timers that run the display without you. Go Star Shower Ultra 9 for $29.99 if you just want red and green dots across the whole house, and BlissLights Pixxi at $299.99 if you want moving reindeer and sleighs. For pictures rather than dots, the Govee H7071 ($119.99, IP67) or the $29.99 Star Shower Slide Show Christmas throws snowflakes and Santas; a Gemmy LightShow is the grab-it-today option at big-box stores. For a live-action Santa in the window, buy AtmosFX decorations and use a projector you already own. Planning a backyard Christmas movie night instead? Our best outdoor projector guide covers real video projectors, and our best outdoor projector screen roundup covers what to project onto. Shopping the Black Friday sales for a projector? Read our projector sale guide first.